Student Doctor of the Month

Every month the Canadian Association of Optometry Students recognizes and celebrates an outstanding Canadian student doctor of optometry for their contributions to optometry. This student exemplifies desire and commitment to further optometry as a profession. Whether through political activism, community outreach or academic research, their actions and dedication help lift optometry to a new horizons. Their character is one that inspires others to rally behind them and is committed to improving the society in which they operate.

These incredible individuals are either nominated by either a fellow colleague, community member or an academic faculty member. All nominations are due on the 15th of each month and will be reviewed by the CAOS executive board. Please submit all submissions to Eligibility requires the candidate to be a Canadian citizen studying at a recognized Canadian, American or international school of optometry.

February 2019: Helon Law

Helon Law is a current 3rd year student at Pacific University College of Optometry in Forest Grove, Oregon. Originally from Vancouver, BC and having completed a Science Degree from UBC, you will find him practicing back in Van City around May 2020.

During his time at Pacific, Helon has built an impressive rapport where he is the current president of PUCO’s chapter of CAOS. He has also served as class tutor for numerous courses including Neuroanatomy and Systemic Disease and teaching assistant for labs such as Behavioral Optometry and Clinical Procedures. His involvement with these courses have made him well-prepared for his goal of owning a private practice one day, with emphasis on brain injury rehabilitation, a population that is grossly underserved.

Despite the tremendous workload of Optometry school, Helon continues to make time for advocating the profession at various conferences across the US and annually at BCDO. In 2017, he joined eight other optometry students and one attending doctor to Cambodia as part of an AMIGOS-SVOSH Eye Care Mission. These experiences have contributed to his passion in travelling the world while looking cool doing so, something he has also succeeded at during his time in Oregon.

When Helon isn’t tied down with the aforementioned commitments, you can find him sitting around a table with his best friends eating Dim Sum or rock climbing like a crazy person; with aspirations to free solo El Capitan…brave! Although the extra upper body strength might help with high plus and BIO. Oregon has also provided the perfect backyard for Helon to practice “catching the waves” and “getting pitted” with his surfboard dudes. Amid preparing for a little something called Boards, he still makes time to enjoy the little things in life and actively work on expanding his watch collection. He will be missed by students and faculty when the day comes for him to move away!

Past Student Doctors of the Month

January 2019: Emalea Deschamps
December 2018: Samantha Wong
November 2018: Tara Mahvelati
October 2018: Jennifer Chan